Empowerment, Optimism

Life as a Series of Crossroads

Life Lessons:

Life is a series of crossroads but no matter the direction you take, you end up exactly where you’re supposed to be.

Crossroads

Crossroads (Photo credit: MarkSmallwood)

Your life is a series of days strung together by choices that have been impacted and determined by previous choices. Every day there are new choices to make. Some are too small to give thought (So I want a tall or a trenta iced coffee) and some are so monumental that they appear almost impossible to wrap your mind around. As someone who used to obsess over every choice I encountered I find it interesting that I can now make decisions without thought. Every once in a while though… there’s that one choice that smacks me upside the back of the head and knocks me silly.

I’m a person of faith, not in the religious sense. I have faith in my life, faith in the people I love, and faith that, in general, everything is going to be A-OK. Everything works out the way it is supposed to in the end. That doesn’t stop me from wondering how in the hell things could possibly work out when I’ve got an impossible decision to make or I’m not sure which direction I should go with something. Faith doesn’t mean impervious.

I’ve embarked on numerous personal journeys the last four years of my life, some were voluntary, others were not, and all of them have led me to where I am right now. I’m facing another multitude of decisions that need to be made. Each of them requires thought and some of them have deadlines as soon as the next few weeks of my life. I’m feeling a little unsure and fragile at the moment, but it’s tempered by my cheerful outlook on life and the fact that I stand behind my decisions, no matter the outcome in the end.

You can’t cheat yourself out of the experience. You should never try to subvert your heart and you should always follow your instincts. I’m taking one step at a time on my own personal path of these crossroads with the knowledge that no matter how it turns I was brave enough to take chances, create my own destiny, and enjoy the ride.

The point of this lesson is that, as a person, I recognize my own insecurities enough to differentiate them from my instincts, and I try – every day – not to let them rule my life. I encourage you to ask yourself why you choose to react to life the way that you do. Is it instinct or insecurity?

Enjoy your crossroads, no matter the direction you choose to go and have faith that you’ll navigate your way to where you are meant to be.

 

About The Logical DayDreamer

I'm a hopeless optimist and a "logical" daydreamer. I see the sun behind the clouds, color in darkness, beauty within the pain and I believe that a life lived without enthusiasm is a life completely wasted.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Author

Past Musings

Tweeted Musings

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Judgement Day

Warrior DashJune 17th, 2012
Judgement Day: A day to push past my limits, cavort in the mud, and celebrate with a beer!
