Fitness, Health, Nutrition and Diet, Personal Growth

A Warrior Woman Rises!

Warrior Dash was amazing. I’m totally hooked. Not a fan of the running part, mostly because I slacked off the last couple weeks with my running program, but I loved the obstacles. I feel like I zipped through all of them. Next year, however, I want an earlier run on the first day. By my wave on Day 2 the course was destroyed and there were numerous times where I had to proceed with extreme caution, including an entire half mile where I feel like it took me 20 minutes for what should have taken 5. But, I finished in 1 hour, 6 minutes and I completed every obstacle.

Fire Jump

I moved like I had blinders on, my only concern with forward momentum. One of the last obstacles, a steep hill rope climb with wooden slats to help you up, had a line at the bottom. For good reason too, it was at the end of the half mile mud disaster and the wooden boards and rope were completely slicked over with slimy mess.

 At the far edge I noticed there was no wait… there was also no rope. After a quick survey of the climb itself I decided I could barrel through with no rope. Carefully placing my feet on the bottom slat I reached up and forward to grab the next slat so I could get a foot hold on it. I spider crawled my way up to the next level of muddy mess until I was through. As I waited for my teammates at the top, I treaded carefully to a quasi-dry patch to catch my breath and exhaled in victory. I was three obstacles and about .2 miles from the finish. That last half mile of slipping and sliding through the mud took a lot out of me, but I felt accomplished. The rope wall climb, the horizontal cargo net, the rock climbing wall, the barbed wire army crawls… it was all so much more fun than I expected.

 I can’t wait until next year. I’m going to get my running up to par and then next year I want to finish time under 45 minutes. I also want to fund raise as a Warrior for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. It’s a great cause and I feel that these challenges need a higher purpose for me to find them truly satisfying. This year I donated my shoes (which were in okay condition prior to the race) to Green Sneakers for cleaning and reuse. That coupled with the fact that this was my first race (of ANY KIND, let alone off-road obstacles) made finishing a very satisfying accomplishment.

Mission Accomplished

Mission Accomplished!

My shopping for my “clean kitchen” continued yesterday with an enormous grocery trip that consisted of 4 dozen cage free, vegetarian fed brown eggs (on sale for 2.49), about 25 lbs of fruit and veggies, 10 lbs of chicken, and 4 pounds of steak. Now I need to spend a day cooking, portioning, and freezing meals for the next two weeks. Which will put me into my deadline of July 1st. If I can keep it to 150 every two weeks, I’ll be ecstatic. But I’m pretty sure I’m going to over-run my budget on occasion. On the plus side, the 4th of July is coming up… this is my favorite time to stock up on post-holiday sale meats. Two years ago I purchased 77lbs of various meat cuts for 82 dollars. Portion Packaged and frozen, that purchase lasted me 9 months. I’m hoping to repeat that this year… though I might need a deep freezer by the time I’m done.

After resting following Warrior Dash (glad I took a day off of work) I’m looking at my finances and my schedule so I can plan my training program. I’ll let you know how that pans out.

 Hope everyone is enjoying this early summer weather as much as I am!!

Always challenge what you think you’re capable of. You’ll probably surprise yourself with the results!

About The Logical DayDreamer

I'm a hopeless optimist and a "logical" daydreamer. I see the sun behind the clouds, color in darkness, beauty within the pain and I believe that a life lived without enthusiasm is a life completely wasted.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A Warrior Woman Rises!

  1. SO proud of you!!!! What an awesome accomplishment. Thanks for the post holiday shopping tip, I rarely shop right after the 4th, as I stock up for house guests before. I am going to have to rethink my plan for this year.

    Posted by Mama V | June 22, 2012, 10:32 am
    • Thanks! Memorial Day and the Fourth of July are great for “grilling meats”. Chicken breasts, Skinless thighs, and low fat ground beef are the best buys. Steaks depend on your local stores (usually it’s the pricey cuts for holidays, which aren’t that good of a deal even discounted.)
      Also good buys, fresh berries (because the season for strawberries is ending and blueberries are just starting) and ears of corn for freezing.

      I purchased a foodsaver vacuum sealer and am hoping to post on my clean eating attack this weekend. Wish me luck!

      Posted by The Logical DayDreamer | June 27, 2012, 11:27 am
      • Good Luck! Funny…I just ordered one of those too! I have a kitchen full of new appliances that we never dreamed of having before, do not know how we survived without our dehydrator and juicer all these years. Looking forward to all of those discounts…except for the corn, we eliminated that food item completely too. =o(

        Posted by Mama V | June 30, 2012, 8:43 am
      • I still eat whole corn on the Cob, as long as it’s organic and non GMO.

        Posted by The Logical DayDreamer | June 30, 2012, 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Author

Past Musings

Tweeted Musings

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Judgement Day

Warrior DashJune 17th, 2012
Judgement Day: A day to push past my limits, cavort in the mud, and celebrate with a beer!
