Empowerment, Family, Life Lessons, Motivation, Parenting, Personal Growth, Relationships, Time

Life Lessons – Anything Worth Having

Life Lessons

Anything worth having is worth working for.

My parents may have taught me this lesson a little too well. Because I believe that everything takes work and I’ve reached that point in my life where I want things for myself and my family I have a tendency to take on more than I have time to manage.

I have a two (almost three) year old at home. I work and, even though I’m underemployed, that’s 30 hours of my week not including my commute. I’m a full-time student. I’m training for a 5k obstacle course. I’m looking to buy a house. I’m researching 4 year degree options. I’m trying to have a social life.

It’s exhausting, to be completely honest. But I feel accomplished and proud of myself every day. I have an amazing support network that’s filled with people who cheer me on when I’m struggling, support me when I’m worn out, and encourage me to be my best.

When I hear stories of women who get an advanced degree while working full-time with 2 or more children and little to no support system I am astonished. I honestly don’t know how they manage it. Even with all of the resources at my disposal I struggle to balance work, home, and school. I couldn’t imagine doing it under more difficult circumstances. I applaud every one of those women – they are my inspiration on rough days.

The lesson that you have to work for the things you want seems to be one that isn’t applied well these days. I know too many people, generally younger than me but not always, who seem to feel the world owes them something. The problem with that philosophy is that eventually life smacks you in the fanny and makes you get to work.

Even when you’re willing to work life sometimes smacks you in the fanny to remind you to work harder. The last four years of my life felt like a never-ending struggle. In work, in life, in my relationships. Even though things are evening out for me now, it made me realize that maintaining a good, happy life takes continuous maintenance. I’m good with that. I may come home exhausted, I may look at my studies and desperately want a night off, I may have to bike out to the middle of nowhere and vent my frustrations, but at the end of the day, I can reflect back on every struggle I’ve had and know that it’s worth it.

The next time you feel your shoulders slump in defeat over a setback or something that didn’t work out the way you thought it would ask yourself if you’ve put in the work. Have you earned it yet? Answer yourself honestly. I’m a firm believer that if you’re willing to dedicate yourself to making something happen, you’ll eventually reach your goal.

Keep Calm and Tread On.

About The Logical DayDreamer

I'm a hopeless optimist and a "logical" daydreamer. I see the sun behind the clouds, color in darkness, beauty within the pain and I believe that a life lived without enthusiasm is a life completely wasted.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Life Lessons – Anything Worth Having

  1. So true! It’s good to keep this in mind whenever you feel like giving up 🙂 I find it tough sometimes to persevere and keep pushing when things get rough, so your post is a great reminder to keep moving forward!

    Posted by eatandgetmoving | May 15, 2012, 11:40 am
    • When things get rough, we tend to feel overwhelmed and it’s easy to lose focus. I know that if I lose focus on the big picture because I’m bogged down in everything that piles up on me, I end up making decisions out of panic that tend to lead me in the opposite direction of where I want to go. I try to keep a reminder (a photo, a keychain, a necklace) on me at all things that can serve as a “focus object”. Something I can physically look at or touch when times get rough to remind me to keep calm and stay focused. As you said, we need to keep moving forward! 🙂

      Posted by The Logical DayDreamer | May 15, 2012, 1:59 pm
      • “making decisions out of panic that tend to lead me in the opposite direction of where I want to go.” –> that’s so me as well !!
        I just talked about this today with a friend and I was just saying I want to kick this habit 🙂 So, I’m gonna be working on this from now on!

        It’s nice you keep a physical reminder 🙂 Good idea!

        Posted by eatandgetmoving | May 15, 2012, 3:34 pm
      • 🙂 I wish you tons of success in kicking the habit.

        Posted by The Logical DayDreamer | May 16, 2012, 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

Author

Past Musings

Tweeted Musings

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Judgement Day

Warrior DashJune 17th, 2012
Judgement Day: A day to push past my limits, cavort in the mud, and celebrate with a beer!
