Fitness, Health, Humor, Musings by Category, Nutrition and Diet, Time

Pretty sure that’s not my butt that hurts.

Spin / Revolution Room

Spin / Revolution Room (Photo credit: sirwiseowl)

I officially started my training program this week. Wednesday was my first spin class and I. Am. A. Moron. I was totally prepared; brought my towel, a bottle of water, and a positive attitude. What I needed to check at the door is my propensity to overdo it. It started out well, really it did. The instructor was cheerful and pleasant. She was very encouraging.

 The first ten minutes were a breeze. It was everything after that that didn’t go so well. See, the instructor tells you when to raise and lower the resistance on the bike and by how much. But I’m a rebel and when it came time to lower the resistance, I foolishly refused to take it down as low as she wanted. This is a long standing habit of mine. I put every piece of equipment I use to work out on higher levels of resistance and, for the majority of my life, left my own bicycle set on a gear that felt like slogging through mud. It’s just the way I’ve always been. I completely soaked my towel. I drank my entire bottle of water and when I stepped off the bike at the end of the 45 minute torture session (complete with arm workouts) I felt like I was going to vomit. But I survived.

 Now, she warned us that our “bottoms” would hurt. I don’t know where HER bottom begins and ends, but I don’t have an ass-vag so it’s certainly NOT my butt that hurts. Just sayin’. Thankfully, I recovered rather quickly and am completely prepared to go kill myself at boot camp class tomorrow morning… where I’m sure I’ll overdo it again. Some habits just can’t be broken I guess.

 

 

About The Logical DayDreamer

I'm a hopeless optimist and a "logical" daydreamer. I see the sun behind the clouds, color in darkness, beauty within the pain and I believe that a life lived without enthusiasm is a life completely wasted.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Author

Past Musings

Tweeted Musings

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Judgement Day

Warrior DashJune 17th, 2012
Judgement Day: A day to push past my limits, cavort in the mud, and celebrate with a beer!
