Humor, Musings by Category, Optimism, Personal Growth

Optimistic Realism

Is the glass half empty or half full? The pess...

Is the glass half empty or half full? The pessimist would pick half empty, while the optimist would choose half full. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“A pessimist is one who makes difficulties of his opportunities and an optimist is one who makes opportunities of his difficulties.”  ~Harry Truman

Yes, I always try to look on the bright side of things. I am always trying to point out an upside, even if the situation tears me apart inside. It is a rare occurrence for me to give into my misery when I’m unhappy. That doesn’t mean that I run blindly towards the good in life. My parents raised me to “hope for the best but be prepared for the worst”. It is important to see how things could go wrong. But it’s more important to focus on what could go right.

The person who focuses only on the downside, the consequences, the negative, has nothing to hold on to or strive for. They tend to develop the “this will never work” mentality and they end up with a self-fulfilling prophecy. Even if they try to be enthusiastic about something, the way they approach people or talk about it comes off differently than someone who truly believes things will be okay.  Humans can endure untold hardship and suffering and my philosophy is simple:  if you dread the outcome constantly for fear of pain; you’re likely doing more damage to yourself than any negative outcome will do.

I call myself an optimist because I see sun when there’s rain, I look for rainbows instead of pots of gold, and I know that life is short. But perhaps a more appropriate term is “Optimistic realist”. I daydream but I know they might not come true. I hope but I am not completely crushed or immobilized when something goes wrong. I have faith that the good in life will always turn back in my direction but I take the steps necessary to meet it halfway.

Our society seems to be addicted to drama. TV, reality, real life; it doesn’t matter. Drama appears to be the fuel in the tank for many people. So much so that I know a number of people (including my former self) who end up creating their own drama by complicating things needlessly, whether by accident, intent, or influence. I see too many people make their lives so much more difficult than they need to be. It makes me want to yell at them to wake up and see the havoc they’re wreaking. But the realist in me knows that I can only nudge and be patient. Optimists can’t be created instantly and people have to be free to choose their own paths in life.

There is no use in railing against those who don’t see things the way you do, who don’t share your opinions or beliefs. The best thing you can do is be yourself around them, speak from your heart and accept them as they are. I gave up trying to “bring people around” to my way of thinking a long time ago and have since learned to appreciate the wealth of diversity in my little corner of the world. After all, I’m sure there are beliefs or fears that I cling to that have made me who I am and I believe I am entitled to them. Why shouldn’t everyone else be entitled to theirs as well?

See the possibilities in every difficulty you face and it will feel like spring all year round. Spread the sunshine with those you love by being accepting and watch the unnecessary drama fade from your life.

A random musing from:

~LDd

About The Logical DayDreamer

I'm a hopeless optimist and a "logical" daydreamer. I see the sun behind the clouds, color in darkness, beauty within the pain and I believe that a life lived without enthusiasm is a life completely wasted.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Author

Past Musings

Tweeted Musings

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Judgement Day

Warrior DashJune 17th, 2012
Judgement Day: A day to push past my limits, cavort in the mud, and celebrate with a beer!
